Awards for Excellence 2011 Round Up

The best businesses and people in the accommodation industry were awarded on Friday 24th June at the 2011 National Accommodation Industry Awards for Excellence.

The glittering function, held at Hilton Sydney, was attended by over 300 leaders and representatives from the tourism and accommodation industries in addition to Shadow Minister for Tourism, Regional Development and Federal Member for Paterson, the Hon. Bob Baldwin MP. Tom Williams, champion of the 2005 series of Dancing with the Stars, reporter for The Great Outdoors and host of the new High Road Low Road, performed the role of MC.

The Accommodation Association presented Gold, Silver and Bronze awards to 67 properties and representatives. 

“The National Accommodation Industry Awards for Excellence are all about achieving and maintaining the highest standards in the accommodation industry”, said Lorraine Duffy, Chief Executive.
“The Awards represent a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the thousands of small, medium and large businesses that make up our accommodation industry and provide great service to many millions of domestic and inbound travellers”.


Property of the Year went to Scone Motor Inn & Conference Centre and Accor Hotels took home the prestigious title of Chain of the Year.

Property of the Year Winners - Trevor & Joanne Kratzmann from Scone Motor Inn with the Hon. Bob Baldwin MP.

Accor CEO, Simon McGrath, with Chain of the Year sponsor - Andrew Mikhail from American Express

Other major winners at the 2011 National Accommodation Industry Awards for Excellence included:

  • Best 5-Star or Premier Accommodation Hotel – Sofitel Sydney Wentworth (Sydney, NSW)
  • Best 4.5-Star or Luxury Accommodation Motel – Hermitage Lodge (Pokolbin, NSW)
  • Best Self-Contained 5-Star or Premier Accommodation – Banjos Bushland Retreat (Vacy, NSW)
  • General Manager of the Year – Erkin Aytekin, Novotel Melbourne St Kilda (St Kilda, VIC)

In addition, five ACES (attitude, commitment, enthusiasm, service) awards were presented to the following long-serving members of the industry in recognition of them embracing hospitality values of attitude, commitment, enthusiasm and service – Chris Pye (Hospitality Inns, WA), Andrew Daff (Lane Cove River Tourist Park, NSW), Matt Davidson (Best Western Wollongong, NSW), Karina Groth (Tourism Business Solutions) and Simon McGrath (Accor Hotels).

Guy Bentley received the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for outstanding contribution to the accommodation industry.


The Accommodation Association acknowledged the role of the sponsors who made this event possible:

The Evolution of the Accommodation Association

At the gala dinner on 24th June we screened a short video on the historical background of the Association and the evolution that led to recent rebranding. The video is available to watch below (via You Tube):


Many thanks to people and properties that contributed material for the video:

Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
The Menzies Sydney
Brisbane Holiday Village
The Mountains Heritage Hotel & Spa Retreat
Metro Hotel Tower Mill
The Devivo Family
The Graham Family
Toga Hospitality
Jim White
Australis Diamond Beach Resort & Spa
Hyde Park Inn
Paradise Palms Resort
Riverwood Downs
Home movie footage ‘Silent Car Trip Australia’ Roger McKenzie & Kent Bernie